Category: Literary Awards

Scottish literary awards caught up in gender row


Lesley McDowell

Dani Garavelli writes:

A gender row has blown up after a female judge resigned from the Saltire Awards over the decision to give the Fiction Prize to a man writing about a woman over three women writing about a woman.

Lesley McDowell stepped down when Ewan Morrison’s Nina X was chosen over Lucy Ellmann’s Ducks, Newburyport.

The author was also concerned by the quality of the decision-making process given none of the five judges had completed all six books.

McDowell had not read Nina X because of a conflict of interest; only one of the panel judges had read Ruairidh MacIlleathain’s Còig Duilleagan na Seamraig because the other four did not speak Gaelic and – according to McDowell – two of the judges admitted not having finished the 1,000-page long Ducks, Newburyport.

Toni Morrison: Nobel Prize-winning author dies at 88

Toni Morrison pictured in 1979

The Nobel Prize-winning US author Toni Morrison has died at the age of 88.

The Morrison family confirmed “with profound sadness” that Morrison had died “following a short illness”.

The author of 11 novels, she won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1993, having published her first novel, The Bluest Eye, in 1970.

Her 1987 book Beloved told the story of a runaway female slave and was made into a film starring Oprah Winfrey in 1998.